Golden Wheel awards slated tonight

Mar 20, 2017 - Philippine Daily Inquirer

The best and the brightest of Philippine motor racing in the past season take a bow tonight in the 14th Golden Wheel Awards Night at Samsung Hall of SM Aura in Bonifacio Global City.

Former rally ace Armando Eduque, the chair of the motorsports committee of the Automobile Association Philippines (AAP), heads the roster of guests in the affair that will also crown the 2016 Golden Wheel Driver of the Year.

Eduque and Golden Wheel Foundation Inc. chair Johnny Tan, hand the awards to the champion drivers and riders in various racing disciplines.

An independent panel of judges made up of racing officials and members of the media will choose the Driver of the Year from among the champions.

Among the candidates are John Emerson Inguito (Scooters), Masato Fernando (Underbone), Marvin Mangulabnan (Superbikes), Glenn Aguilar (Motocross), Milo Rivera (Slalom), Edwin Rodriguez (Grand Touring), Jonathan Tiu (Drag Racing), and Dexter Daquigan (Classic Cars). —STEVE SILVA, CONTRIBUTOR